NaPoWriMo Day Ten

The ongoing expressions of faith (specifically Christian) on Facebook have caught my eye again. This poem is for all those who feel obliged to tell me how great their God is.

I Believe…. That’s all you need to know.

There’s scads of Gods and Goddesses,
Enough to go around.
But when the real work needs done,
They’re nowhere to be found.

Their offerings and sacrifice
Are all they care about,
And knocking up some mortal lass,
A holy act no doubt.

But when a plague needs curing,
Or homeless to be fed.
Your deity I safely bet,
Is still at home in bed.

So worship them if that’s your thing,
I won’t get in your way.
But don’t tell me to live like you,
Or fear your judgement day.

I have my life and my beliefs,
I don’t force them on you.
So keep your faith and keep your Gods,
And I will keep mine too.

Cheers, Winston

2 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Day Ten

Share Your Thoughts